Recent News

  • Monday, January 6, 2020 - 10:45

    UIHC Glaucoma faculty Drs. Nathan Sears, Wallace Alward, and John Fingert along with Pediatrics Professor, Dr. Ben Darbro published a case report of a young patient with glaucoma caused by a TBK1 gene duplication. Twenty year follow up showed worsening of optic nerve damage (cupping) at an early age before peripheral vision loss. Read more about it here.

  • Thursday, December 12, 2019 - 12:15

    The Glaucoma Service is thrilled to announce that Dr. Austin Fox will be joining the team as the Glaucoma Fellow in July of 2020. Dr. Fox is currently completing his Ophthalmology Residency here at the University of Iowa.

  • Tuesday, September 3, 2019 - 14:45

    Associate Professor of Ophthalmology from Duke University, Dr. Paloma Liton gave the 2019 Phelps lecture. Dr. Liton (center) is pictured with the Glaucoma team at Iowa (Drs. Mike Anderson, Erin Boese, Lee Alward, Marcus Kuehn, John Fingert, and Nathan Sears).

  • Tuesday, August 13, 2019 - 10:15

    Drs. Erin Boese, Wallace Alward, and John Fingert report discovery of a novel PAX6 gene mutation that is associated with anirida, obesity, diabetes, and secondary glaucoma. Read more about it here.

  • Friday, July 5, 2019 - 10:00

    Dr. Rand Allingham was a leader in glaucoma research, education, and patient care as well as a great colleague and friend to many. He has been dearly missed since his untimely passing in 2018. Drs. Nathan Sears, Erin Boese, Matthew Miller, and John Fingert wrote a review article about glaucoma genetics that is part of a special issue of the journal Experimental Eye Research to honor Rand described here.

  • Friday, July 5, 2019 - 09:45

    Dr. Rubin completed her ophthalmology residency at Montefiore Health System in New York and medical school at Penn State and joined the Glaucoma Service at the University of Iowa on July 1st.

  • Monday, June 24, 2019 - 16:30

    A research team led by Dr. Wallace L.M. Alward examined relatives of a hundred patients with pigmentary glaucoma to see if they had increased risk for pigmentary glaucoma themselves. Read more about their study here.

  • Monday, June 24, 2019 - 16:30

    Our Team includes: Teresa Kopel, Matt A. Miller MD, Dan I. Bettis MD, John H. Fingert MD PHD, Wallace L.M. Alward MD, Erin A. Boese MD, Nathan C. Sears MD, Karen Hurt, Ashley Aull. Not Pictured: Kristy Welte and Alison Sexton.

  • Friday, March 15, 2019 - 16:00

    At the annual meeting of the American Glaucoma Society, Dr. Erin Boese was awarded the Young Clinician Scientist Award for her proposal, “The Molecular Genetics of Primary Congenital Glaucoma”. Dr. Boese will use cutting-edge DNA sequencing techniques to search for new genes that cause congenital glaucoma. The American Glaucoma Society award will provide $40,000 to support Dr. Boese's research program.

  • Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 16:30

    Congratulations to Dr. John Fingert on being elected as a member of the Glaucoma Research Society, a prestigious international society of glaucoma doctors and researchers (<100 members), that has a meeting every two years. Dr. Fingert joins University of Iowa faculty Drs. Lee Alward, Chris Johnson, and Sohan Hayreh as members of the society.